Skip to content

Higher Education


Marion County is home to Fairmont State University and Pierpont Community & Technical College. In Marion County 32% of the population has an Associate’s Degree or higher. Surrounding Marion County are six public and private institutions - combined the region offers 9,637 college graduates within a 40-mile radius.

Fairmont State University is a comprehensive, student-centered, state-supported institution offering dozens of certificate and degree programs at the associate, bachelor, and master levels via 41-degree programs and over 90 fields of study. It has regional campuses in nearby Harrison County, the Gaston Caperton Center in Clarksburg, and the Robert C. Byrd National Aerospace Education Center in Bridgeport. For more information, click here

Pierpont Community and Technical College (Pierpont) is a public community college in Fairmont. Founded in 1974, it has the second-largest enrollment of the 10 Community and Technical Colleges that make up the West Virginia Community and Technical College System. The college serves 13 counties in North Central West Virginia with classes offered at more than 15 locations throughout the region. With an enrollment of more than 3,000, Pierpont offers more than 40 associate degree programs, skill sets, and one-year certificates. It specializes in preparing students in two years or less for practical hands-on careers and provides non-credit enrichment courses for individuals and customized workplace training for local employers. For more information, click here

West Virginia University is a public, land-grant, R1 research university that’s just 20 minutes from Marion County. he Morgantown campus offers more than 350 bachelor's, master's, doctoral, and professional degree programs throughout 14 colleges and schools.

Also within a 40-mile radius of Marion County, you will find the following institutions: